Go to Sleep

I tell you it will be okay
I tell you everything is fine
This is how your mother
Can ease your worried mind

I rub your back gently
In tiny circles up and down
I tell daring tales of pirates
Funny stories about clowns

I reassure you with my smile
I know you aren’t old enough to see
This curving of my lips is fake
There is deception in my glee

Those loud bangs are thunder
The flashes, lightning strikes
The screams are cheers of joy
Everything is all right

Go to sleep, little one
Find pleasant dreams to drown out the noise
Let us pretend there will be a tomorrow
Hide the horrors with simple joys

Copyright © 2016 Ashley Uzzell

One thought on “Go to Sleep

Leave a Reply

