I Am Mother

That is my name
That is my job
That is my purpose
I once had dreams
Goals, hopes for a happy life
Things I wanted to do
I was once young
I was once a woman
Now I am Mother

My children flourish
They grow so quickly
I adore them
I would never want to be without them
But they are all I know
The only true relationships I have
I was once well spoken
I was once content
Now I am Mother

I am not a woman with children
It is no longer a title
I have become this title
It is all I am
Not friend
Not lover
Not confidant
Not human being
I am only Mother

How do I go back?
How do I find that girl?
She was lost over the years
Murdered by bitterness
By sarcasm and harsh words
Ignored until she disappeared
She knew happiness and hope
But she is gone forever
Now I am Mother

Who will I be when the children are gone?
When they are grown
With lives of their own
Who will I become?
Will I find real relationships?
Or will I continue to be alone
And lonely
Will I only ever be
Mother?

Copyright © 2016 Ashley Uzzell

One thought on “I Am Mother

Leave a Reply

